My Own Hair

My Amazing Natural Hair Journey

Your Start-up Natural Hair Guide, part III

Here’s the third and final installment of the how-to guide on going natural. I’m not sharing tips I’ve heard, these are steps that I’ve employed along the way that led to success. But first, a few snapshots for you to enjoy as I show you my journey in pictures. Enjoy!!!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

  • Take a day to experiment using products and styles. Last year, I committed to Saturday’s for about two months, trying different styling routines and products. Don’t invest in too many, but get a couple of good products and use for a couple of days or weeks at a time to see how it works for you. If it doesn’t work, I think you’ll know quickly. But I also know that products that didn’t work last year, some work good now. So it depends on your hair and what season it’s in, too. I use sulfate-free shampoos because generally speaking, these are less harsh to my hair and won’t dry it out. Experiment, do some research and read reviews to find the best product for you. 
  • While you’re doing all this, think about a PLAN B. I’m not opposed to a quick weave or wig in the interim. This will give your natural hair a rest period and you can braid it underneath or do something low maintenance to give it a chance to catch up and begin growing back healthy. But remember, think short term and not long term.
  • Read a good book. I read “Thank God I’m Natural” by Chris Tia Donaldson and am currently reading “Hair Rules.” Education is the key to making wise choices on this natural hair journey.
  •  Pray throughout. Only God can help you see the beauty that’s He’s naturally given you. That’s what I had to do. I went through a period of almost self-hatred ’cause I thought I had bad hair. No more of that today, but it was a process. Really, in the end, you’ll see this is about so much more than hair — it really is about coming to grips with loving YOU. 
  • Be encouraged on the journey, you are doing the right thing. It will be challenging on some days. Let’s face it, your hair will NOT cooperate, but know it always gets better and you always find the right product/style combo as you continue. Be steadfast and committed. You’ll look back and be soooo thankful you did this. My boyfriend is extremely supportive of me with my natural hair, but I accepted it first and I committed to the journey. If I did it, so can you. So girlfriend, do you. You are an original and can’t nobody else do you, like you can

 Thanks, love you and pray it helps you on your journey! Happy Trails natural divas!!!

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

