My Own Hair

My Amazing Natural Hair Journey

What Have You Read Lately?

You will often hear me say on this natural hair journey that you MUST commit yourself to education. It’s not a suggestion, but an instruction if you want to continue along successfully. And believe me, I’m not telling you to do something that I’m not willing to do.

Infact, right now, I’m reading Anthony Dickey’s book “Hair Rules” and am loving how simple and clear it is to follow. I’ve also read “Thank God I’m Natural” by Chris-Tia Donaldson and Hair Care 101 by Theo Garfield (a local stylist). It seems that I’ve learned so much on this natural hair journey, but I also know that there are things that I forget from time to time and need to be reminded. I’ll give you a couple of quick examples.

In the book, Dickey gave GREAT advice for simply conditioning our tresses. He suggested taking either olive oil or shea butter and applying it to hair, then sitting under a hot dryer for 15 minutes to give hair an instant deep conditioning “before” shampooing. I thought this was really good advice and although I know the concept and have done it before, it reminded me and reinforced this principle, so I will continue to enact this in my weekly hair care routine. You’d be amazed at how much knowledge we glean, but then forget or table it because we can get into comfortable hairstyling and haircare ruts.

Another example — I recently was reminded of another hair care tip by a stylist who’s been in this natural hair game many, many years. Nahbila Sonia Tutuwan Thames was a featured panelist at my recent FREE hair seminar. After a question from the audience about how often we should shampoo natural hair, she promptly said if we’re shampooing once a week, that’s too much because it strips hair of natural oils. WOW! Good reminder…’cause I do have a weekly routine with my hair, but fortunately, I co-wash one week and then shampoo the next week with a sulfate-free shampoo (Carol’s Daughter Hair Milk shampoo and conditioner). Nahbila says this is absolutely fine (shampooing with a cleansing shampoo bi-weekly) because the co-washing, or using conditioner only to wash your hair, is actually like adding moisture and doesn’t strip it. Whew!  But what a good reminder not to shampoo hair too often, especially as cold as it is now.

So again, I may have read or practiced these wisdom tips before, but it’s always good to have reminders on this journey.

With that I ask, what are you reading now on your natural hair journey?

Happy Trails naturals!!!

2 Comments»

  Sheila wrote @

What type of hair cut works best for natural hair……should the hair be evenly cut or layered, or does it depend on the texture of the hair to determine what is the best cut?

  myownhair wrote @

Great question… I think it depends on the texture and length of hair as well. My hair would be a layered cut because it is shorter on top and gets longer on the sides and back, but I know there are some folks who have an even-cut bob…so I think your style preference, length of hair, texture, etc all play a role. I’d also say check with a professional stylist to get their expertise!!!
Thanks for stopping by!


Leave a Reply

