My Own Hair

My Amazing Natural Hair Journey

Natural Hair Divas, I Salute You!

There are times we must reflect. It’s about a week after my FREE natural hair seminar and I am remembering that 60 years ago this wouldn’t have been possible. My grandmothers wouldn’t have been able to host this type of event.  God’s grace is remarkable, His vision is awesome and I am thankful for it!!!

And that’s not all… I am also reflecting on another successful seminar — thanks to you!!! Every seat was filled (and then some) at the Homewood library. I am so humbled by your hunger for information on your hair and now more determined to provide you with what you need. Your dedication to come out has inspired me even more…

I am also reflecting on the panelists who supported me in this venture…and I am asking that you support them:

  • Darius and Meagan Peace (makeup tips)
  • Theo Garfield (stylist)
  • Nahbila Sonia Tutuwan Thames (stylist)
  • Goldie Williams (stylist)
  • John Woods (photographer/videographer)
  • Countless volunteers, friends and loved ones who supported, organized, signed people in, ran interference and hauled items!

 I could not have done this without each one of you!!! For each of you — I wish you continued success in your future endeavors and pray God’s best for you in your career and personal ventures! May HE exceed your expectations in the new year!!!

And all participants — please take advantage of the FREE massage being offered by Irresistible Hair and Lashes as their gift to you for coming out!!!  Everyone who participated can receive this. Call Kelvin Thames at 317-5767 for more information!!!

Thanks again, Happy Holidays and Happy Trails Natural Divas!!! Be fabulous for the holidays:)

2 Comments»

  LaToya wrote @

Hi,

I just was talking to my supervisor at work the other day about doing a natural hair program at the library. I stumbled upon your blog while doing research for my area. Are there any tips on making this type of program work and people who you could suggest that would be willing to do the program. Any help would be appreciated. 🙂

Thanks

  myownhair wrote @

I think that’s a GREAT idea!!! One contact I can give you is Kenya Goodson…she’s one of the founders of the statewide group Natural Daze and she lives in the Tuscaloosa area. Infact, they’re scheduled to have a meetup January 22nd and I will be there (location tba). I’ve been hosting these seminars at the libraries for free and have had more than 100 people to attend each one. I would strongly suggest getting a good marketing/promotional plan to get the word out….I mainly used local radio and Facebook!!!
As far as who to have on the seminar…the women absolutely love testimonials from fellow natural divas, along with stylists with whom they can ask questions about styles and haircare rituals and products…so anything you can do in this arena is really good!!! I will follow up regarding Kenya’s info and please feel free to follow up with me as well, should you need an answer from me sooner!!! She’s founder of the group NATURAL DAZE, which is on Facebook… she updates it and you can reach out to her as well there…

I’m loving the idea and please let me know how I can assist you further!!!


Leave a Reply

