My Own Hair

My Amazing Natural Hair Journey

My Wash and Go How to

New wash and go!

Well…it was about time I tried it… I know so many women who’ve done the wash and go style and boy, have I been reluctant. But — this is a new day! Overall, I really like it for a quick weekend style. But you know me, I’ll experiment and refine it and by spring, it may move to my main styling option.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Here’s how I did it.

  • The ritual began last night, when I applied a generous amount of unrefined shea butter, olive oil and castor oil to my hair and allowed it to stay on overnight. My hair absolutely loves this pre-moisture routine.
  •  This morning, I shampooed twice with Carol’s Daughter Hair Milk and then applied Hair Milk conditioner for about 5 minutes and rinsed. I combed my hair with a large tooth comb while rinsing out the conditioner.
  • Then once out of the shower, I applied about a dime sized amount of the Hair Milk conditioner again, and the actual Hair Milk leave in conditioner.
  • Then I carefully parted my hair in small sections and applied about a dime-sized amount of both Eco styler olive oil gel and Bronner Brothers moisturizing conditioning foam mousse to each section (you may need a little more or less depending on your hair).
  •  I used a Denman brush to brush each section through to the end with one hand, while carefully holding the sectioned hair with the other hand. Once I made it to the end of the parted hair, I released it and let it spring into place on its own. Occassionally, I would separate individual strands.
  • After applying all over my head, I’m letting it air dry this morning. The result is what you see above! 

The whole routine allows me to elongate and define my curls. It took me a good 45 minutes to 1 hour to work through my entire head, but that’s only because this is the first time doing it. I will surely pick up speed as I move along. And I may not wear this everyday, but it is a GREAT quick style to go to this fall, especially on the weekends.

Do you have any other go to styles or other suggestions for this wash and go? I’d love to hear from you.

In the meantime, Happy Trails naturals!

4 Comments»

  Alicia wrote @

Hey I like your hair. I have been natural for two and a half years and enjoy it. I am creating a natural hair site with profiles of different naturals. I want as a variety of people. Would you like to be part of the profiles?

  myownhair wrote @

Alicia, I’d love to be a part of the profiles. Thank you for reading my blog and asking me this.
What an honor!

  Sherre wrote @

Your hair looks great! Which style of denman brush do you use? How long did the wash and go last? Where you able to get a day two from it?

  myownhair wrote @

Sherre… I don’t know what style of Denman brush it is. But it is a large bristle brush… you can look them up on http://www.youtube.com...

Thanks!!!


Leave a Reply

