My Own Hair

My Amazing Natural Hair Journey

How often should you shampoo your hair?

I had someone pose an interesting question to me recently. She asked…how often should I shampoo my natural hair? I thought it was a good question because that just depends on who you talk to. I wet my hair nearly every day with some product, but, I do not wash or co-wash my hair daily. I’ve just found at this point, it works best for my hair. Now, I’m not married to routines in this journey and am willing to change.

What works best for me at this point is to alternate between co-washing my hair one week, and shampooing the next week with a very gentle shampoo. I find that those popular brand of shampoos that worked with permed hair are no good for me au naturale… I need something specifically created for my natural hair. I’m a fan of Carol’s Daughter products, but do some research to find what works best for you. And please note… my routine has changed a little since I started this journey. When I first started co-washing, I thought, I will rarely if ever, shampoo with a cleansing shampoo. But I don’t think that’s the very best route for me.  I will shampoo my hair with a mild product every other week at least and continue to co-wash consistently. It just works best for me.

Now, I need your help. What’s your shampooing routine and what advice would you give for naturals? Thanks!

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

