My Own Hair

My Amazing Natural Hair Journey

KISS — Keep it Simple Sister

We all want to look like Hollywood divas. Well to rock a glamour style, it doesn’t have to be difficult or tedious. Infact, my styling routine is not complicated at all. I’d say it’s rather simple.

I co-wash with any variety of VO5 conditioners. I shampoo every other week with Carol’s Daughter Purifying Rosemary Mint shampoo and conditioner. I deep condition every other week with olive oil and shea butter. I use Eco Styler gel to set my flat twists or twists and I re-set the twists almost every night with Bronner Brothers foam moisturizing wrapping lotion and Eco Styler. I daily moisturize with Olive Oil applied directly to my hair for shine and moisture.

That’s about the sum of it. On this journey, just keep it simple.  No need to mix mass products or come up with outlandish routines. Just keep it simple.

And when you talk with countless other women, that’s how they’ve succeeded on this natural hair journey. They find what works and do that…consistently. For instance, I was talking to a friend recently – who has a short natural – who told me that Eco Styler gel works great for her alone. She applies it after she shampoos her hair (she shampoos a couple of times a week). She gently runs it through her hair with her hands and it forms nice mini ringlet curls which look great on her. She said she noticed the Bronner Brothers foam wrapping moisturizing lotion, which I love, does NOT work for her. It makes her hair somewhat puffy.

Well, I’ve noticed Eco Styler or any gel alone on my hair doesn’t work. I just noticed my hair really likes the moisture that the wrapping lotion provides because it does contain olive oil; it gives it a little bit of shine. Gel alone on my hair daily doesn’t give it any pizazz. Now, that’s just my thing.

When you find a routine or style you want to add in, try it on a day that gives you time to correct any errors or things you don’t like. For instance, on a Saturday (which is the day I use to experiment). Really, this isn’t that difficult. Styling natural hair is really easy.

Can any of you share your easy natural hair styling routines?

2 Comments»

  Sherre wrote @

Thank you again for your wonderful blog. To me my regime is fairly simple. I two strand twist my hair and wear those for about a week depending on what is going on in my life. Then I untwist them and wear them the loose. I let them take on a life of their own. This results in a two week or more hair style. Which is great for me because I don’t like fussing with my hair often.

  myownhair wrote @

Awesome! Thanks for your comments!!!

Sent from my iPhone


Leave a Reply

