My Own Hair

My Amazing Natural Hair Journey

Is this a movement?

There are a number of people who are “going natural.” Look at the television and magazine ads. Look around your job. Check your friendship circle. Chances are real good you know someone who’s making the shift. But why is it so popular?

I don’t know that I have the answer to that question but I can share why wearing my natural hair has been revolutionary. That’s not a play on words or hype, I mean it’s literally changed my life.

  • First, I’ve received so many compliments from those in my circle. I know there are those who’ve had horrific experiences, but I can’t speak to that. My circle has been really complimentary and it’s been very encouraging on my journey.
  • But could it be that they’re encouraging and accepting because I have accepted what is the new me? Oh sure, I struggled for the first few weeks – big time. But at my five month anniversary wearing my own hair, I am elated for this new beginning. I style my own hair. I’ve learned how to care for my tresses. And I can rock an edgy style one minute, while looking corporate the next — all with minimal effort.  Sure, I’ve had to learn what styles and techniques work best, but it has been one of the most rewarding journeys ever.
  • There’s this confidence that just leaps out at you. I’ve always been pretty confident, but I think it’s taken on a new tone. I walk different. I’ve kicked up my style a notch. People notice, and I have no intentions of backing down.
  • I’ve seen very little of the “issues” most people say they deal with, but then again, I don’t expect them either. It’s been hot, but I have had minimal problems with my hair frizzing out and losing it’s style… infact, once I’ve found the right products, my curls hold phenomenally. Take this flat twist up do here, it is weather proof and worked absolutely lovely for a weekend style. I also think it may have to do with the fact of hair imprinting, too. Here’s what I mean. The flat twist out has been my go to summer style. I re-twist my hair each night, so my hair  is becoming “trained” along this curl pattern. Summer has been no problem; infact, it’s been rather easy for me to adjust. So don’t let the critics deter you – just because someone else experiences a challenge doesn’t mean  you’ll have to (I’m just saying)!

If you’re natural, I salute you. There are others who’ve blazed the path already and I’m following in their footsteps. I thank them, too…but now it’s time to blaze my own path. And trust me when I tell you… I will do it and bring as many people with me on this journey as I can.

Happy trails naturals!

2 Comments»

  Sharifa Wip wrote @

Keisa,
Once again, I have enjoyed your post. Thanks for sharing. And, I am loving the new styles. Keep experimenting. You are doing a great job!
Sharifa

  myownhair wrote @

Thanks so much Sharifa! It has been equally fun and informative!!!


Leave a Reply

