My Own Hair

My Amazing Natural Hair Journey

A Few of My Favorite Things

I have a running list of items that are my favorites in this natural hair game. Here’s a quick rundown of what has made my life easier as a natural diva. Hope it helps you too:)

 

Natural oils provide nourishment and sheen.

Natural oils. 

 I simply do not use hair grease anymore. I daily apply natural oils mainly to my hair after shampooing, and only occassionally to my scalp. My scalp remains relatively clean because I conditioner wash about once a week, sometimes twice. This is the top ingredient because oils are so versatile — I use to pre-wash condition and daily groom. I have Extra Virgin Olive Oil, coconut, castor, sweet almond and jojoba oil. The castor and olive oils rank highest because they give my thick hair the heaviest sheen. If  your hair is thinner, I recommend the jojoba, coconut or sweet almond oil as they are lighter oils.

VO5 Moisture Milks conditioner is my co-washing component. It works wonders for my hair and costs about a buck (if not less). When I co-wash, I put it generously on my dry hair, massage it into my scalp and hair real well – just like a normal shampoo – and rinse out. I normally do this twice and will add a small amount as a leave-in conditioner. It actually helps define my curls when I style and twist or flat twist my hair.

Carole's Daughter Purifying Rosemary Mint shampoo and conditioner

When I do shampoo, I use Carole’s Daughter Purifying Rosemary Mint shampoo and conditioner. I will use this about once a month and it feels so refreshing! By the way, I shampoo with this ONLY once. I precede the shampoo with an oil treatment for my hair. I apply a generous amount of almond, olive or castor oil either the night before or several hours before I shampoo for a pre-wash moisture infusion my hair loves!

Gel is the preferred tool to set my hair in a twist or flat twist. I have a couple of faves that work well with my hair. Nahbila’s Essentials Aloe Peppermint gel is a fave and it’s produced locally, and the much talked about Eco-Styler Olive oil gel also works good for me. I’ve also tried one more with fair results. Garnier Fructis Style Curl Shaping Spray gel (yes it comes in a spray bottle) helps my edges lie down without buildup or flakes. I purchased the one with  the strong hold. Again, I usually use these to twist, braid or flat twist as it sets my curl pattern. I always apply one of my oils when I’m either setting my hair or when I take it down to give it a natural sheen. I have a friend who uses plain aloe vera gel to set her styles. I plan to try this next in my quest to use all natural products and will post an update for you.

A few others worth noting that I use occassionally…

Organic Root Stimulator Olive oil Nourishing Sheen spray… I use it to sometimes supplement my natural oils. I don’t use everyday, just sparingly.

Creme of Nature’s Lemongrass and Rosemary Leave-in Creme Conditioner helps manage my hair when I need my edges and sides to lie down for an updo. I have no idea what makes it work, but when I apply this to my edges along with a scarf…in about 1-2 hours, my hair is lying flat. I also brush my sides and back when styling an updo for my hair and it makes it lie flat and produces gentle waves. It’s a great product for manageability for my hair to use on occassion.

Hope this helps,

Happy trails naturals!

2 Comments»

  LaTrisha Howard wrote @

Hi Keisa!!!….I cut three inches of my hair off 2 wks ago in an effort to rid my hair of the relaxed portion. To my surprise, I wasnt upset about losing but more so free. In a few weeks, I will be cutting the remaining relaxed portion of my hair off. There is a noticeable difference in the textures, especially when I wear a twist set with the ends being thinner than the rest of my hair.

I am going to try a style this weekend, I saw on you tube by Monique Fordnyce using Donna Marie’s MiraCurl curling jelly. Check out the website at http://www.shopdonnamarie.com. Have a great day!

  myownhair wrote @

Hey, I will take a look at that site! I am so proud of you… on your natural hair trail!!!


Leave a Reply

