My Own Hair

My Amazing Natural Hair Journey

A Natural Diva’s Prayer

Back to me

I often think about what I can do to help women who’ve made the decision to embrace their natural tresses. One of the things that came to mind recently is to create a special prayer. As I think about it, I didn’t do this when I began. Maybe it has something to do with how it all started for me with the burned scalp — yikes!!! Well, I prayed that God would heal me but I must admit, creating a confession was the farthest thing from my mind!

Nonetheless, for those who need encouragement, this is just for you today… and you may have to do it by faith, meaning you may not “feel” like some of the words you’re saying are true. But the more you confess this, the more it will become a part of you. That’s exactly what happened to me. After feeling discouraged wearing my own hair for a few weeks, I talked to God and told Him, regardless of how I feel, that I accept the strands He’s given me. Infact, I said aloud, “I love my own hair.” That statement for me was life-changing in this natural hair game. With it, he took me from apprehension to boldness. My prayer is that He will do the same for you.  

You may ask, “I don’t feel anything different at first. How often do I confess this?” My simple answer, until your feelings change. The Bible tells us that our words are powerful — infact, life and death is in the power of the tongue according to Proverbs. They have the ability to create or destroy our future. I’m giving you a tool to create a positive experience on your journey. Please take advantage of it. 

A Natural Diva’s Prayer

Dear Lord,

I thank you for my own hair and I accept each strand you’ve given me. You know how many hairs number my very head, so I ask you for the wisdom and the guidance to care for them. Show me the right products to use, styles to wear and the proper nutrition to help beautify my tresses.

I desire to be a beacon of light for others who will begin this journey. I thank you for giving me strength, courage and acceptance of the real me. I love my own hair, and I thank you for this opportunity to experience the real me.

 

After I confessed these things over myself, I can’t tell you how many people have come to me and told me how much they like my hair. Things have seemed to open up in other areas of my life because I am getting back to the authentic me. Now, I’m not dependent on the approval of others, but once I embraced me, others have been forced to do so as well. The same can and will happen with you.

I dare you to make this prayer a part of your life! In the meantime,

HAPPY TRAILS!

2 Comments»

  Sherre wrote @

Thank you for this prayer, I will admit there are days that I am not in love with my hair and I become frustrated. I know the power of confessions, don’t know why I didn’t think of this. Thank you again

  myownhair wrote @

Wow, you are most welcome. I didn’t think of it at first either. Appreciate your comment!


Leave a Reply

