My Own Hair

My Amazing Natural Hair Journey

“Thank God I’m Natural”

Chris-Tia Donaldson

I’ve finally finished reading the book Thank God I’m Natural by Chris Tia Donaldson. It gives some good common-sense advice for those who want to get off of the “creamy crack,” also affectionately known as the relaxer.  I’m three months out sporting my own hair, and it dawned on me that I need to lean heavily on those who have gone before me.

This book is an easy read and deals with several issues and myths – like whether natural hair is “professional,” nightmares we all encounter on the journey and how our perception of hair affects and influences several areas of our lives. It also showed some great pictures of current natural hair styles for those who need a “picture” of where  to go.  But my favorite part of the book? The home recipes for naturals. Maybe this caters to the do- it-yourself-er in me, but I am most excited about being able to create homemade shampoos, cleansers and conditioners. Some of the recipes I’ve already tried and can vouch for their effectiveness.

Thank God I'm Natural

I enjoyed reading it, but if not this book, I would strongly suggest building up your library with a good set of books. Information is power on this journey. 

Happy trails…

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

