My Own Hair

My Amazing Natural Hair Journey

There will be days…

It just won’t work. Sometimes, your hair will not cooperate with you. Sure, you know this already, but I’m giving you a reminder notice. Why is it that so many women going natural want to cave in at the first hint of a hair challenge? If you have challenging days with chemically treated hair, it stands to reason the same will hold true with your own hair. Hang in there though!

Natural hair re-introduces me to the world of flexibility and a hair plan B. There are some days I go in to work with my hairstyle looking so good and then, like the picture shows above, at the slightest hint of humidity, it attempts to retreat to its natural state — yikes! That can translate to frizz or fluff as I call it (straightens with no curls). And believe me, there are instances where my hair has looked much worse than the picture above.

Point being in all of this, transitioning to natural hair is not for the faint of heart. When I committed, there was no other option so the choice has been relatively easy for me. Now, with that said, there are still challenging times.

With the temperature warming up and rain becoming abundant, I am again contemplating what to do with my beautiful locks. I am not sold on another wig, but I am investigating hair products and styling options. The two-strand twist out has worked really well, I just need to find a way to make it last longer. I only use mousse to set it… so I may have to add a stronger holding product like gel. 

We’ll see, but either way, I’m in it for the long haul. You hang in there too!

2 Comments»

  LaTrisha Howard wrote @

I am so glad I read your blog today…After having to deal with my hair in the rain, humidity, and working out, I had seriously thought about making an appointment to get a relaxer. Your hair looked great with the twist and flexi-rod set!…I will give this a try and see what happens because it is getting too hot to wear wigs…Wish me luck!

  myownhair wrote @

Thanks for your encouragement. Please let me know how this turns out…and I am wishing you luck.


Leave a Reply

