My Own Hair

My Amazing Natural Hair Journey

My Natural Hair Journey in Pictures

After talking to my girl group today, I was inspired to show you my hair activity over the past few weeks! Alright here are some pix that chronicle the journy. 
 I had it flexirodded two weeks ago by a professional stylist, which lasted about 5 days. Here’s the look right out of the shop…
 
 
 

This is about 2 weeks ago. I went to the hairdresser on Sunday to get it flexirodded and it lasted a good 5 days, which may not be too bad for my first try. Plus, I went to sleep on it each night with a silk bonnet. Other naturals tell me I should have pinned it up and not slept on the curls, because that apparently flattens them.

Next up, this is day 2, the Monday after I got it flexirodded. 

This is the night of day 3…mom put it in bantu knots to hold curls…

This is day 4 on Thursday… keep in mind each day I’d style I’d use a light oil on my hands like Argan oil or Olive oil to style.

That Friday and Saturday I slicked it all up and pincurled it up in the back and on the sides… and had a straight bang. I had an event in Huntsville that Saturday. 

After this, I then shampooed and let my mom braid it on Sunday afternoon. The first photos are of my home braid out set. I let my mom braid and I took it apart using Argan oil on my fingertips.

The pic below shows about 5 days into it. I really liked this style and it was relatively easy. The only difference, I would have put some sort of shine agent on when we first braided it while wet on Sunday.  I also noticed the longer I went with this braid out style, which I braided each night by the way, the straighter my hair became which was kind of neat. I applied Argan oil on my fingertips as I un-braided it each day.

You know, as I write this… I see that it’s almost totally ridiculous for me to wear a wig (which I have been doing for the past couple of days after utter frustration with some of my own experiments). There may be some uncomfortable times in this natural hair journey, but I do have some style selections that I can wear.  I just need to be patient and step out, which is what I will do.

I think that’s why it’s imperative for me to write — I get to chronicle my experience and actually see the progress. And it’s therapeutic. Shall be interesting to see what the week holds for me…on this natural hair journey

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

