My Own Hair

My Amazing Natural Hair Journey

Free to Be Me

I’ve heard people say it for years, but as I approach the big 4-0, I have become a little more bold each day. I’m less tolerant of “mess” as they say. I’m a straight-shooter and I want to be handled as such.

For years as a broadcaster, I was always taught to be very careful in what I say or how I say because you don’t want to offend people (the viewers). But I now realize that in some parts, while you make many others happy and comfortable, you can suppress what you truly feel. Well, you do this for years, and it becomes a habit — hiding the real you and disappearing into a sea of settling. And for those broadcasters who choose to be bold in that business, we might as well stone them!  They risk not being well perceived by the public.

When my livelihood is on the line, that makes perfect sense to me to keep personal opinion quiet. But now, there’s a part of me that refuses to be suppressed.  Now, I’m not saying throw out wisdom, but there’s a part of me that has no more time for hiding my feelings or pretending anymore. There is a way to tell the truth in love.

How in the world does this relate to hair you ask? It is in direct relation. I’ve never wanted to deal with the real me. I wanted to mask it because of shame or fear of what my own hair would bring or what others would say. But my, how wrong I was! I have thoroughly enjoyed dealing with my hair, or the real me, and have even found the blessedness of hairdressers who understand and enjoy working with natural textures. I think they’re modern day magicians because they have some serious transformative skills! I truly appreciate them.

I guess what I’m saying in a nutshell is, I’m 38 years old, and finally, I’m free to be me.  

7 Comments»

  Deon Gordon wrote @

There’s no freedom quite like the one that allows you to be yourself. Congrats on obtaining what seems to be so elusive for others.

  myownhair wrote @

Exactly dear …thanks for the feedback…pix coming soon..

  Laura Howe wrote @

Hi love! Talked to Ike today and he told me about your blog. Bravo for your honesty! BTW, you’ll be beautiful with whatever style you choose. Hope you are well.

  myownhair wrote @

Thanks Laura!!! New pix coming soon of new do… it has been a journey…and a wonderful one at that! Thanks for your comment!!!

  Linda wrote @

Thanks for sharing last night at UAB. My 17 has not had a perm in 8 months. She is on her journey. She made this decision own her own, shortly after her 16th birthday. She is inspiring other teens and it is a wonderful time in her life. God can use things that we may never think even makes a difference. My daughter is helping others to have more self esteem and to love themselves. To God be the Glory.

  myownhair wrote @

That He does Linda! Thank you for sharing with me!!!

  K’yani wrote @

I really appreciate the time you spent speaking to Mr. Jones class at UAB last week. I am proud to say that I made the decision to no longer relax my hair on September of last year after 18 years of perms. That makes it 6 months and counting! I have found that my hair is not as hard to manage as I thought it would be and it is much healthier now. I am definitely going to bookmark your site so that I can go on this journey with you! Thanks a bunch!!


Leave a Reply

