My Own Hair

My Amazing Natural Hair Journey

“Good Hair”

I finally watched the Chris Rock movie “Good Hair” and thought it was very interesting and informative. I would highly recommend you watch it even if you have no interest in going natural or wearing weaves and wigs. Kudos to him for delving into a topic that’s been long talked about, but never discussed so openly in our community. In true Chris Rock fashion, you get a shot of hilarious truth sprinkled with loads of mind-blowing stats about the economic benefits of the hair biz. If you think you have an interest in the industry, you might want to dive right in to get a piece of the pie.  There is real money to be made.

Seriously, I’m also amazed at some of the lengths we go and prices we pay to make our heads look what we perceive as  “gorgeous,” which normally translates into a straight or wavy style right out of the glamour magazines. We are not alone here in Birmingham, Alabama though. Hollywood actresses prominently sport straight and wavy wigs and weaves. There is one scene in which Chris Rock takes a bag full of hair, featuring tightly coiled curls, into beauty supply shops. All flatly rejected this hair type saying it wouldn’t sell. Could that explain why some African-American women have a disdain for their hair in its natural state? I think it’s safe to say it’s perceived that the “straighter” the hair, the “better” it is. So guess what happens if you don’t fall into this category? You’re perceived as having “bad” hair…hence the foundation of the good hair vs. bad hair debate. I held this belief for a long time as well. 

Chris Rock’s documentary shows that one of the origins of this “good” hair is India. He even showed scenes from some of the women’s hair-cutting rituals, spawning from their belief that God is pleased with them sacrificing their hair.  ARE YOU SERIOUS? It certainly puts a different slant on it knowing this background, but trust me when I tell you, I’m not knocking it one bit. I chose to buy wigs over the past year while I allowed my own hair to transition to its natural state. Those 3 full wigs that I’ve used have served me well. I spent around $30 each for the first two and $50 for the one I’m currently wearing. I believe I can be economical and sassy with my do, if you know what I mean:)

One thing that I’ve found since I started this journey, is that I’ve never referred to my hair as good or bad — I simply embrace what God has given me. I think I’m so in awe of the fact that I really know my own hair texture and have become quite good at caring for it. My hair in its natural state is not straight, but that doesn’t diminish any aspect of its beauty, in my opinion. I will work with what I’ve been naturally given to create the best look for me at this time. I’m heavily leaning toward a sleek shoulder-length bob for two reasons (my hairdresser will flat-iron my own hair). First, after several months of curly hair, I am ready for a change. Second, I think the bobbed style will be a nice professional look for me at this time. Now, I may choose to vary it up a little more later, but this is a good way for me to start wearing my own hair. I had a thought at one point that I didn’t want to add any heat to my hair but not so sure that’s realistic for me now.

1 Comment»

  Deon Gordon wrote @

Major kudos to you for exploring this topic. Thumbs up for giving a personal take on the issue. As someone who’s decide to “lock it up,” I’m glad to see this discussion taking place.


Leave a Reply

